Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I was asked to help a dear friend out with a wedding shoot this past weekend!

Armed to the teeth with my digital Canon bodies and an impressive array of L lenses I assisted by running around, clicking away! Now the dreaded task of editing the masses of RAW files. Colour correcting, sharpening, adjusting exposures, increasing contrast,  etc., etc., ….!

Why?

It is making me think back to film emulsions, handheld meters and camera’s without electronics and more important, images that where perfectly exposed, cropped and super sharp straight from the camera!

I miss my Hasselblad 500C, if it was good enough for the moon landing, why did I sell mine to fund new technology that has to be replaced every 2 years or so?

Makes me wonder, “What is behind an Image”?

A ray of light, a camera, a lens, a man, an idea….?

True Grid!

Johan Botha: True Grid! Shot on a Hasselblad 500C and Fuji Neopan 100 ISO film.

